Hide menu

TPMT nomenclature committee

Welcome to the Thiopurine methyltransferase (TPMT) nomenclature website!

This site has initially been set up by Dr Malin Lindqvist Appell, Linkoping University, Sweden and Dr Sally Coulthard, Newcastle University, UK. We are thankful to the advisory board for fruitful discussions during the development of the website.

Outlined below is the aim and intended scope of the website. We welcome and encourage any comments from researchers in the field to improve the website. A paper was published in 2013 describing the work of the TPMT nomenclature committee (Appell ML et al., 2013 Pharmacogenetics and Genomics 2013, 23:242-248).

The website will be continuously updated with novel alleles and information regarding these.


To maintain a common, logical nomenclature system for thiopurine methyltransferase (TPMT) alleles in humans.

Authors are encouraged to submit novel TPMT alleles (sequence and functionality if available) preferably before publication to the website for confidential designation and reservation of a novel allele name by the nomenclature committee. We will aim to continue the current style of nomenclature to avoid any confusion in the future.

Nomenclature committee members



Web editor

Malin Lindqvist Appell
+46 10 1031229



Malin Lindqvist Appell


Advisory board

Jonathan Berg

John Duley

William Evans

Martin Kennedy

Lynne Lennard

Tony Marinaki

Howard McLeod

Mary Relling

Elke Schaeffeler

Matthias Schwab

Richard Weinshilboum

Allen Yeoh

Page manager: malin.lindqvist.appell@liu.se
Last updated: 2019-02-05